Have You Prepared Your Distracted Driving Policy?
August 30, 2017
Starting September 1 2017, Texas will institute a state-wide ban on texting and driving. It will be illegal to read or send text messages or post on social media while operating a moving vehicle. Drivers caught texting while the vehicle is in motion are subject to fines up to $100.00. The bill, dubbed the Alex Brown Memorial Act, was signed into law on June 6, 2107. Alex Brown was a 17 year old high school student who died in a car crash while texting. The new law will ban drivers from reading, writing or sending electronic message via electronic device while operating a moving vehicle. Drivers will still be allows to make and receive calls, unless otherwise prohibited. Use of Bluetooth and other hands-free devices is allowed and even encouraged. Use of a phone’s navigation system and music apps are allowed as well. The law does not preempt stricter hands-free ordinances currently enacted in several Texas cities.
We encourage employers to develop and implement an anti-distracted driving policy for their fleet drivers.